Skip to content

Girding up my loins

December 17, 2014

Days long and full, evenings of exhaustion where I am so spent I can hardly keep my eyes open long enough to mumble out a blog post.

This crazy train week has been going off the rails.

But…piled on my dining room table are boxes ready for the post office.  The post office, if you’ll remember, is my nemesis.  I don’t know why I hate it so much, but I do.  Tomorrow, however, I have to face my angst and pack up the aforementioned boxes and go stand in line.

I keep reminding myself of the truth:  when those boxes are safely transferred to the hands of the postal workers, I will be able to relax and actually enjoy the rest of my holiday season.  It’s not that I don’t have other things to do…it’s just that I won’t have that trip to that place hanging over my head, spoiling every potentially nice moment by flooding my mouth with the taste of dread.

I might actually come home from work and make another batch of my supremely spicy Chex mix, or perhaps some Christmas cookies.

It could happen.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. lanavaughan permalink
    December 18, 2014 12:29 am

    I would gladly do Post Office duty if you lived down the street. I enjoy my little visits there.

    • December 18, 2014 9:30 am

      Lana…I am totally convinced that you not only have your own parking space with a sign there, but that they strike up a special song when you walk through the door and everyone stops to sing along, and the seas part and you step into the Lana Lane (which has a red carpet, of course) and they hand you roses and a latte as they kiss your hands. You are post office royalty!

      That said, I would like to live down the street from you. :)

  2. December 18, 2014 9:50 am

    It is sad that this wonderful beautiful season has been turned into a season of “dread” by no fault of our own. Buying, wrapping, and mailing gifts is a nightmare. But when it is all over with, it becomes a joy. Gifts received. Gifts Loved. Joy. God bless you and I pray you are gifted with more energy to get through the next week. :)

Leave a Reply

