Skip to content

Of opposable thumbs and hairbrushes

December 21, 2014

There are a good many things for which I’m grateful.  Most of the year I’m head-over-heels grateful for air-conditioning, because most of the year the air in Florida requires adjustment in order to be palatable to humans, although the snakes, alligators, palmetto bugs, and mosquitoes don’t seem to mind it at all. I am also grateful for a secure home that keeps out the snakes, alligators, palmetto bugs, and mosquitoes…at least for the most part.

Tonight I am especially grateful that I am not a cat.  The idea of being covered with constantly shedding fur and having to lick myself clean is just nasty.  The idea of having enough hair in my stomach that I occasionally have to stop, run to the nearest patch of clean carpet, and hork up a wad of compressed fur is even nastier.

Or course, I’m grateful the cats are willing to do this licking thing to keep themselves tidy, although I wouldn’t mind at all if they held off on the horking and hacking business.

Maybe getting to sleep all day is how God gave cats a bennie to make up for the personal spit bath mandate.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. December 21, 2014 10:24 pm

    hork and hack!!! hahaha!!! I’m a new follower, referred from Priceless Joy. Thanks for sharing your thoughts out here on the internets. I loved this post. :-)

    • December 21, 2014 10:28 pm

      I am so glad you’re following, but you’ll almost certainly have moments when you think I surely ought not have shared THAT thought out here on the internets! Haha! Thank you, and welcome to my corner of cyberspace!

      • December 21, 2014 11:01 pm

        That is my whole life…from real life to the internets.

        • December 22, 2014 8:32 am

          Mine too…with a few stops in the more questionable neighborhoods in my brain in between! Haha!

  2. December 22, 2014 5:18 am

    That is funny! Which reminds me, I really do miss my kitty cat. :(

    • December 22, 2014 8:34 am

      We’re cat people here, through and through, and would miss them terribly in spite of their quirks and messes. Can you have another kitty? They’re such good company.

      • December 22, 2014 11:11 am

        Someday, yes. My little dog isn’t friendly to them so I decided I would wait until she is gone. She is 13.

Leave a Reply

