Skip to content

Hibernation call

January 15, 2015

It’s 10:42pm as I begin to write.  That’s not late for me; I tend to be a night owl.

So why can’t I keep my eyes open?

The watery-eyed yawns have begun.  I have to fidget to keep myself awake.  My brain starts a sentence and then stops right in the middle, and I have no idea where I was going with it.

I really don’t know what it is about nights like this.

Maybe it’s because the day was wet and rainy and cold.  It makes a person want to hole up and hibernate.  And truth be told, I took a nap…and didn’t want to get up.  That was hours ago and all I want to do is go back to bed.

It might also be a bit of media overload.  The news sites are full of terrible articles about terrible things.  My Facebook newsfeed is full of terrible posts about terrible things.  When I go looking for something positive, I end up finding loads of sappy videos about puppies and kittens and other animal friends.  Make that baby animal friends.  And all I can think is “seriously? That’s the happiest thing going out there?”

No wonder I just want to go to sleep.  Not that the slow loris and the guilty dog weren’t cute.

I know there is still a world of wonder and hope out there.  I believe it, even when it’s not exactly in my face.

At this point, however, I’m simply hoping I dream about it tonight.  ‘Cause this Sparky has nothing left to stay up to look for it in the waking hours today.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2015 11:10 pm

    I’m sorry you are blue. I hope tomorrow brings new day, energy, and new purpose. :)

    • January 16, 2015 10:42 am

      Decent sleep always helps with a better tomorrow!

  2. January 15, 2015 11:26 pm

    Keep Going. Check my website. http://www.flowmustgo.com Enjoy.

  3. January 16, 2015 12:42 am

    Sometimes we have to make our own happiness. Wishing you a better tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

