Skip to content

The Thinks vs. The Feels

February 1, 2015

It happens all the time. Seems it’s just part of being human.  I’m not immune, and I doubt you are either.

It’s that battle of The Thinks versus The Feels.

I’ve heard both sides vilified, words like “heartless” and “hysterical” hurled like darts.

I’ve also heard both sides exalted, which is generally the justification aspect of vilification, usually.

I reckon the truth lies somewhere in the middle.  After all, God has the highest thoughts and the most impeccable reasoning ever, and yet He describes Himself with words of emotion.  Words about joy and sorrow, anger and affection.  Words about singing and shouting and dancing.

And He made us after His own likeness.  We were created to have healthy doses of Thinks and Feels.

But balance can be a challenge, that’s for sure.

I’ve not really enjoyed the Feels aspect of my life lately.  My response has been to find better ways to Think.  I don’t like it when Feels try to boss me around, and so that’s when I tend to grit my teeth and determine to Think a higher thought.

It’s not a bad approach, in general.

But this isn’t general.  This is specific.  Maybe I didn’t realize that.  Or maybe I was so determined to not be blindsided by a challenging feeling that I never gave it enough attention to learn from it, let alone listen for Him in it.

And yes…He speaks through The Feels just as He speaks through The Thinks.  Anyone trying to tell you otherwise is selling fishy doctrine.

And so He bypassed my Thinking Hours and went straight to my Feeling Hours, where reason does little good because it is not the language of the dream realm.

I woke up after a series of dreams with little need to ponder their meanings.  And I knew beyond any doubt that He was stirring up the Feels so they could be laid on the table and examined instead of just shoved down under a Think.  It wasn’t hard to hear Him.

You feel stifled and restrained because of a lack of sanctified space where you can be free to be who you are and do what you feel called to do.

Yes, that’s true on many levels, not the least of which is that several times lately I’ve heard myself say that I need some office space.  But I know You mean more than that, too.

You feel a lack of foundational cover and support.  You keep trying to adjust and convince yourself that you can be ok with less and that you don’t need more.  And you feel ashamed that you need what others don’t seem to need.

Um, yeah.  Nailed.

I don’t know what to do about any of it.  He’s always right.  But it’s an understatement to say that it’s uncomfortable to sit with these feelings.

I am an introvert who enjoys her own company most of the time, and yet I’m lonely on a level that isn’t really about being social, and requires more than getting coffee with a friend.

I am a creative in a slump who can’t seem to find a rope to pull herself out.

I am a person of vision and purpose who is feeling played out and shut down.

And yes, I feel confined and stifled, uncovered and unsupported.

I can respond to each of those Feels with a higher Think.  I’ve done it many, many times.  But those higher Thinks aren’t changing the Feels this time.

And He’s poking at them.

I don’t know what to do with that.  But He always has a reason.

So I guess I’m in wait mode.

 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2015 11:07 pm

    You are a wonderful communicator. I understand this completely. I pray for help to keep putting his thinks in front of me though I’m in a fog of feels most of the time. :-) I hope the waiting yields much fruit and joy and peace in your life someday soon.

    • February 1, 2015 11:09 pm

      Thank you…I hope so too. These Feels me no likey!

  2. February 2, 2015 2:45 am

    Lisa, you always find creative and “make us think” ways to get yourself through those creative slumps. You just did it again. :) xoxox

    • February 2, 2015 7:32 am

      Thanks…but I’m sure gonna be glad to get on the other side of this one!

      • February 2, 2015 8:44 am

        I understand and I am certain you will. Maybe your brain just needs a break??

        • February 2, 2015 9:06 am

          Unfortunately, “break” usually ends up translating to “entropy” for me.

          • February 2, 2015 9:14 am

            Think of it as the “rise of the Phoenix.” When it comes back to life it will be refreshed and filled with wonderful and beautiful creative ideas.

Leave a Reply

