Skip to content

Nip and tuck

February 3, 2015

It’s February and it’s cold, at least by southern definition.  Everything seems hunkered down to keep warm.

Nevertheless, the trees are kicking up pollen. Ask me how I know.

Every year I am taken by surprise when late January and early February bring itchy eyes, stuffy sinuses, and a delicate dusting of yellow on my windshield every morning.  But it always happens. Trees are plan ahead types.  You’re thinking about Valentine’s Day, and they’re thinking about mid-August.  They have a lot to get done before then.

I feel badly for the poor crape myrtles, many of them victims of crape murder.  Overzealous landscapers prune them with a vengeance, hacking them down to pitiful little nubbins in the name of making them grow.  But crape myrtles don’t need such harsh treatment.  Just a little tidying up will do.  Nothing drastic.

I suppose any kind of pruning seems harsh to the prunee, however.

It’s hard to be convinced that love looks like hedge clippers.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2015 6:28 am

    I wish we could grown crape myrtles here, but no, too high up on the altitude scale (above 5,000 ft.) I always felt like I was murdering my rose bushes when I cut them back every spring. But they always seemed to love it (for some unknown reason).

  2. February 4, 2015 10:11 am

    I am so glad I know the hands holding the clippers when it gets to the nitty-gritty.

    Thanks once again for well placed words x

Trackbacks

  1. Free Fear or Fear Free | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

