Skip to content

I Am, You Are

February 4, 2015

I never know what I’ll find in my email.  Facebook notifications, WordPress notifications, shopping ads, updates on friends and newsletters from ministry folks, offers to analyze my insurance and to enlarge and enhance anatomical parts I don’t even possess.

But sometimes as I scroll through something catches my eye.  Like this photo from a sharing site that sends me a few new pictures to check out every week.  The moment I saw it, I felt a stirring.

Credit: Justin Leibow https://unsplash.com/elevatoro

Credit: Justin Leibow https://unsplash.com/elevatoro

What do you see in this photo?

“You and me.”

Which is which?

“You’re the rock.  You’re always the rock.  You’re solid and unmovable and I throw myself against You time and time again.  And You let me.  You are unchanging and you catch me in all my exploding, splashing mess.”

But then I kept looking.  Hmm…

“No…I’m the rock and You’re the wave.  You move and flow; You wash over me with uncontainable exuberance and life.  Even if all I do is sit still, You continue to surround me, move around me, and in time I am smoothed and reshaped by You.  You are the consistent force in my life.”

Huh.  Well, which is it?  How could He move and yet be unmovable?  How could He be solid like a rock and flexible like a wave?

“Ok, I give up.  Which is it?”

You were right both times.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 5, 2015 8:55 am

    Excellent! The Phoenix has risen.

Leave a Reply

