Skip to content

Too long thawed

February 17, 2015

It’s 67 degrees and it’s blowing rain around outside.  I can’t really see it because it’s dark out there, but the sound of it is unmistakable.

I said, it’s 67 degrees.  In February.

Do you know just how wrong that is?

States north of us are having ice storms and heavy dumps of snow.  They (and don’t ask me who “they” are because I’d have to make something up) have actually named the winter storm Octavia.  We don’t have an Octavia.

We have 67 degrees and rain.

In February.

People move here to the FL panhandle so they can have 67 degrees in February.  The flip side is 98 degrees and 127% humidity in July.

Gah.

I reckon it’s possible that if I moved back north I would say “older self, you assumed you would handle the cold the way younger self handled it.  But your bones are older now, and your blood is thinner because you’ve had too much sweet tea and fried green tomatoes over the past 17 years.  Your brain has beome pickled in southern summer sweat.  Get back below the Mason-Dixon line, pronto.”

Like I said, it’s possible…but not probable.

I get this way when it’s 67 degrees and raining outside.

Did I mention that it’s February?

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2015 9:33 am

    I remember the disappointment of rain on Christmas Day, in the 60’s, in central Fla. Born and raised in KY, it just seemed wrong. But sunshine and the beach in Hawaii on Christmas Day seemed right. Weird.

  2. February 18, 2015 6:28 am

    For about 5 days in the past week we had 65 degree weather. I loved it! Trouble is, mother nature does this to us just about every February but then throws winter back at us with this fippant attitude, “I’m just a big tease!”

Leave a Reply

