Skip to content

Sleeping on the spin cycle

March 2, 2015

You better hope my spellcheck is working.

I am really, really sleepy.  It’s almost 10:30pm, but I’m a night owl and so that’s early for me.  Nevertheless, I’m trying to blog at the same time my body is trying to shut down.  I’m attempting to get my body to hold off just a little longer.

What we have here is a failure to communicate.

Maybe we all better hope my spellcheck is working.

The past couple of weeks have been quite busy.  I just got home from a trip to Dallas, and the weekend prior to that I was in New Orleans.  Both trips were for ministry purposes, and I enjoyed them despite a battle with congestion and hoarseness.

Rabbit trail:  why must trees pollinate?  It totally gunks up the air.  If air was optional, it wouldn’t be so bad, but humans lose their gills within the first few weeks of gestation.  At least, most of us.  I’ve wondered about a few people I’ve met…

On both trips I saw once again how good God is and how invested He is in having His kids be free and whole in every way. He fixes broken minds and emotions.  He fixes broken hearts.  He fixes broken bodies.  He fixes broken relationships.  There’s nothing so broken that He can’t fix it.

Also, on both trips I was reminded how blessed I am when God brings a person with a creatively wacko sense of humor into my life.  I love to laugh.  My own sense of humor is pretty warped and I find things gut-wrenchingly hilarious that other people just find strange.  Some time with people who can really just go with it has a way of clearing the fog and brightening the air. It also jogs rusted connections on the creativity tracks and greases them up for employment.

Heaven knows my rusted connections could use some grease.

Now that I’m home I’ve got laundry to do and sleep to catch up on.  My body hasn’t let me forget that last part, but I just remembered I still have clothes in the washing machine.

If Mr. Sparky finds me draped over the Kenmore in the morning, asleep and drooling into the drum, you’ll know my body won out over the chores.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2015 11:28 am

    Hoping you made into your snug bed and received a good night’s sleep.

    • March 3, 2015 1:27 pm

      I did. And now I’m about to go crawl back into it for a nap. I’m always surprised that it takes me a couple of days to recover from these things. I never think that it’s going to and I usually don’t realize how much was poured out of me until it’s over.

  2. Mr Sparky permalink
    March 3, 2015 5:42 pm

    BecauseThe Sparky Nation wants to know…. Sparky made it safely to bed. No spin cycle disaster here.

Leave a Reply

