Skip to content

It gets worse, and by worse I mean better

March 10, 2015

I believe a number of things that would likely make you cock your head and raise your eyebrow.

Some of those things are deep and private; I barely dare admit them to myself.  It’s not that I’m afraid of what you think.  It’s just that those beliefs are so incredibly tender and precious that I don’t hold them out for public scrutiny.

And then there are the outrageous things I believe that I’ll tell anyone.

Like how because of Jesus we are much, much more than we’ve ever dared dream and that most faith systems have actually taught us to disbelieve the best parts.

Like how I believe in miracles and a God who is willing and able to do the improbable, the impractical, and the impossible simply because He loves.

Like how I believe God talks to people all the time but most folks don’t recognize it.

Like how love is a power, and I believe it is actually a real live superpower.

Like how the seen reality is inferior to the unseen reality, which is no less real because it’s unseen.

Like how I believe the unseen can actually be seen if we know how to look and are willing to press past our preconceived notions of what it means to see.

Like how God never intended us to be bored and confined by a life of faith, but instead intends it to excite us and free us for great exploits that defy logic, belief, human nature, and sometimes even the laws of physics.

It’s not enough for me to simply say I believe these things.  I want these beliefs to change me.  I want them to be so engrained that my life choices and my living, breathing reality is profoundly shifted and directed by my firm persuasion that I didn’t make any of that stuff up.  It’s real.

We go to great lengths to have safe, predictable lives and then we slowly die of boredom.  It’s actually rather terrible when you think about it.

Here’s to calling up a wild ride that doesn’t end until it dumps us off at heaven’s gates…at which point we find out just how much more outrageous forever actually is.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2015 10:19 am

    Those things are all stuff I believe too! And I am right along side you wanting them to change me, to let God make a radically different me in my life!
    Check out alongside you, you might see me on that wild ride too :)

    • March 10, 2015 10:32 am

      I’m all for a seatmate…this is the best reason ever to kiss good hair days goodbye!

Leave a Reply

