Skip to content

The Not Heres and the Not Yets

March 16, 2015

Maybe it’s just me, but it seems that when I’m shopping for a really specific item that isn’t necessarily attached to a brand, it becomes nearly impossible to find.  Whether it’s a certain style of shoes or a particular color of towels, whatever it is, it suddenly seems to cease to exist.

Assuming it ever did, of course.

Maybe it’s just that my focus became so narrowed and specific that I only had eyes for the item that existed in my mind.  If it exists in my mind, surely it exists out there somewhere, right?  Surely someone smarter and more capable than I am has already put such an item into production.  I mean, I’m pretty sure I’ve seen it somewhere before.  I think.

Although I’m never totally convinced that the item doesn’t exist, I eventually have to decide upon a course of action:  either I settle for a different item, or I simply go without.

Sometimes it’s a challenge to discern when compromise will bring blessing and when it will only bring frustration.

Some folks believe compromise is a dirty word 100% of the time.  I try to avoid being part of that crowd.  It would be arrogance on my part to believe that I always have the best answers, opinions, and ideas.  I am not above wanting what I want, but I can be wrong, and I can be selfish.

Sometimes choosing compromise is actually choosing grace.

There are times, however, when I believe that God has placed an idea or a vision on my heart, and I am hesitant to compromise it because it seems to change the nature of that idea or vision in a way that dilutes it, or morphs it into something that doesn’t resemble the heart of what He placed in me.

I’m not ok with that.  I want Him to get what He wants.  He’s never wrong, and He’s definitely not selfish.

The kingdom of God is an amazing thing.  The broken become whole.  The weak become strong.  The poor discover treasure. And like all true kingdoms, this kingdom has a King.

He’s super creative, this King.  He has people all over the world doing the same thing, but in such drastically different ways that many don’t understand that they’re all on the same team.  But if one stops doing what He inspired them to do and begins doing what He inspired someone else to do, something precious and vital is lost.

The differences are valuable.  The differences matter.

I keep hoping to find the things in my heart already in existence.

They probably are…somewhere.  But I’m not finding them near me.  Not without settling.  Not without compromising.

And it just doesn’t feel ok to settle this time.

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2015 10:17 am

    Persevere, if it is from Him it WILL come, Daniel prayed and it took 21 days because there was a great spiritual battle Dan 10:12-13 Sometimes the lesson is in holding on and asking for prayer – something I am very bad at doing :) *hugs*

    • March 16, 2015 10:53 am

      That’s a good word. Because there IS a battle, but it doesn’t look like a regular battle. It’s not about good and evil. It’s about the privilege of partnering with Him and bringing His vision to fruition in my little corner of the world. And I need to remember that.

  2. March 16, 2015 10:58 am

    Lovely post!!

Leave a Reply

