Skip to content

Tight rope vs. free fall

March 17, 2015

I’m not interested in platitudes.  I have no regard for clichés or pithy sayings.

I’m definitely disinterested in sweetly spoken hope-killing words that make excuses for why the reality of the kingdom of God so often doesn’t seem to be our reality.  It’s useless to bother offering me “logical reasons” God doesn’t appear to be following through on His word.

I’m not buying a word of it.

It seems to be our nature to try to make all of life make sense.  We want a reason so badly that we’re willing to accept a terrible one, a flat-out lie—one that accuses God of being a negligent Father who hurts His children in order to teach them a lesson, or a powerless Father who gets out-maneuvered by the devil at times.  But when we swallow that bitter toxic pill, it warps our ability to ask the painful questions without our trust in Him hanging in the balance.

Why are the liars and cheaters prospering?

Why didn’t he get healed?

Why did we lose everything?

Why are good people suffering injustice?

Why was she left at the mercy of merciless people?

In our lack of understanding, with the acrid taste of disappointment in our mouths, we conclude that it must surely be that God doesn’t love us all that much…or that we don’t deserve His intervention…or that the enemy is just too powerful…

even though the scriptures clearly say

He is love and He sacrificed His best to bring us home…we are His dearly beloved children and He has no condemnation for His children…sin and death have been defeated and the enemy no longer has any authority over us…

and they say it over and over and over.

Sometimes the most honest answer to our painful questions is the hardest answer.

Sometimes the answer is simply “I don’t know.”

But “I don’t know” viewed through a lens of love and trust turns out a lot different from “I don’t know” viewed through a lens of distrust and unbelief.

The love problem is never on God’s end.  Really.  He loves, period.  But when we demand answers, sometimes a serious love problem takes root on our end.  We begin holding our hearts ransom from Him in exchange for answers, forgetting that He already paid a dreadfully high price for our hearts, our lives.

He loves us. He doesn’t love less because He permits the tension of hard questions and difficult circumstances.  And a day will come when the hard questions and difficult circumstances fade away, and only love remains.

This is where I must park.  I can’t afford any other position.  Besides, where else would I go?

He’s the only one with the words of life.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2015 10:02 am

    This is awesomely amazing. Thank you. I love you <3
    Was there this morning. For the first time I stood and looked at Him rather than the situation – and you know what it was good :)

    • March 18, 2015 10:05 am

      I love that—”I looked at Him rather than the situation.” He’s always much better looking, eh? :)

      • March 18, 2015 10:27 am

        Always, I hope you don’t mind, I am going to link this in the post I am just writing. I hope it brings some of my people to read yours cos I truly love your heart :)

        • March 18, 2015 10:33 am

          I don’t mind at all! Thank you for sharing, and for being such a faithful encourager! I need to catch up on your blog…my poor Feedly is groaning from the weight of the blogs I’m behind on!

  2. March 18, 2015 1:41 pm

    Excellent Lisa. :)

Trackbacks

  1. Change of heart. | Shiny Thoughts

Leave a Reply

