Skip to content

The siphon

March 22, 2015

Distractions come in the most surprising forms sometimes.

For example, I sat down to write a blog post, and even though I didn’t know exactly what I was going to write about, I had some creative energy flowing and was sure I’d come up with something.

I needed to clean out my email inbox first, and while doing so I ended up clicking on a couple of Facebook notifications.  Just tidying up my corner of cyberspace, right?

Yes, right…if I’d just checked the notification, no scrolling around.

But of course, I scrolled.

And that’s when I ran across a couple of mutual friends having a bit of a quarrel.  I read their public conversation and recognized a breakdown in communication.  That breakdown led to an offense, and the offense led to harsh words, and the harsh words led to more offense…

You get the picture.  Who amongst us hasn’t been on that the Communicative Offense Hamster Wheel at one point or another?

I didn’t interject any observations.  It wasn’t my issue and it was none of my business.  But that didn’t stop the situation from draining my creative energy down to the dregs in the bottom of my tank.

You’d think I’d learn by now.  I know many artists find inspiration in their negative emotions, but I am generally not one of them.  Anger, rage, fear, jealousy, anxiety, conflict—those things shut down my creative energy almost immediately, even for writing.  That mess leaves me with nothing to say.

Tomorrow is another day.  Here’s to writing before reading, eh?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2015 9:59 am

    /pat, am with you, after getting lost in IM conversations I am learning my lesson too – prioritise and avoid distractions

    • March 23, 2015 11:19 am

      The trick is figuring out what’s a distraction and what’s real life needing attention.

  2. March 23, 2015 6:42 pm

    I’m sorry to hear that it brought you down and sabatoged your creative energy. :)

Leave a Reply

