Skip to content

Every little thing…

March 27, 2015

I have a story to tell.  But first, a small update.  And actually, the story and the update are connected.

It’s been five and a half months since I returned home from Brazil.  Not a day goes by that I’m not affected by all I saw and experienced there.  It still blows me away.

In about a week I plan to submit my application to return there with Global Awakening once again, the same trip as last year.

Except I know it won’t be the same trip as last year.  I believe God has told me to go back and I believe He’s told me that He’ll be sending folks with me.  I feel in my spirit that His intentions for me with the 2015 trip are different from His intentions for me with the 2014 trip, but I don’t really know what that means, because the 2014 trip was over-the-top in awesomeness.

One thing has not changed from last year:  I have no idea how He’s going to do this.  It costs more money than I have.  It requires more support and encouragement than I know how to give myself.  But I saw how He did it last year.  I don’t know if He’ll do it the same way this time, but He did show me that when He cooks something up, He pays for it.  He’s not given me any reason to believe He’s changed His policy about that.

Anyway, you’ll be hearing more about all that from me in the near future, I’m sure.  Right now I’d rather tell you a story!

Last night I drove over to Pensacola for a healing and miracle service hosted by a couple I know who went to Brazil with Global Awakening about two months after I did.  I met a couple of my long-time friends there, excited to have an evening with them.

There was a bit of teaching and then we began to pray for one another.  It seemed we were nearly done when I glanced over at one of my friends, and my eye fell upon her knee and suddenly a thought came into my head:  that knee hurts.

Now, I had no idea if her knee hurt.  But just in case this was a word of knowledge, I figured I’d best ask.  So I did.

She laughed.  Yes, her knee hurt. Actually, both knees hurt.  More than her knees, her toe hurt because she’d broken it last Sunday.  And her back hurt worst of all.

Well, alrighty then!

I prayed for her toe first.  After a bit of prayer I asked her how it was feeling. She was wearing a pair of sneakers and she began moving her foot around, putting pressure on her toes.  It didn’t seem to hurt.  Then she slipped off her sneaker and began to poke at her toe through her sock.  My other friend was amazed…she’d seen that toe on Sunday.  It had been black and swollen, and our friend had been in intense pain.  Now it didn’t hurt at all.

We rejoiced and thanked Jesus, and I then prayed for her back.  The pain left and she felt much better as she stretched and moved.

We thanked Jesus again and then I laid hands on her knees and prayed for them.  Weirdest thing ever:  her knees got all sweaty under my hands.  I thought maybe I was imagining it and so I asked her if she was feeling anything.

“My knees are sweating!” she laughed.  One of the things I love best about this friend is her willingness to laugh at just about anything.  Sweaty knees are kinda funny, when you think about it.

I had her test out her knees and she got up and walked around.  The pain was gone.  We thanked Jesus some more.

We were gathering things to leave when it occurred to me that I hadn’t actually seen the toe.  I asked her if she’d taken off her sock and checked it.  She said no and immediately sat down and pulled off her sneaker and sock.

I saw five perfectly pink toes of normal size and position. I had to ask which toe had been injured.

The look of shock on her face, and well as my other friend’s face, was priceless. When my friend had put on her shoes and socks to come to the meeting the toe had been all purple and blue and green with bruising, as well as swollen and painful.

And now it was completely normal.  Completely healed.

We rejoiced some more and praised Jesus some more.  He cares about our pains!  He cares about our toes!

It’s these kinds of things that increase my gratitude for my experience in Brazil.  God confirmed over and over His willingness to extend His healing power.  He confirmed over and over His dynamic love.  And He confirmed over and over that He’ll use me as much as I’m willing to step out and be used.  He’ll meet me at the point of my risk.  He’s not limited by my risk tolerance factor, but I am.  Which means I need to not have a risk tolerance factor at all.

Whew.

I am beyond curious what He’s got up His sleeve for take #2.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2015 9:34 pm

    That is really awesome Lisa!!

  2. March 27, 2015 10:24 pm

    Woohoo!! He still answers prayers hallelujah!

  3. March 28, 2015 6:54 am

    Praise the Lord

  4. March 29, 2015 4:25 pm

    i can’t wait to hear what He does through you guys there!! it’s going to be an incredible trip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i’m so proud of you, lisa! you are a beautiful reflection of His glory.

    • March 29, 2015 4:54 pm

      I wish you were coming with us, but you’ll be having your own awesome adventure, I know! God does the coolest things, and I love partnering with Him. It blows me away, the things He lets me see and do!

Leave a Reply

