Skip to content

Ambushed by delight

April 7, 2015

The message popped up on my phone midway through the morning.

Hey, would you have time to bring me a pair of shoes?

Now, I assumed the Sparkette hadn’t forgotten to wear shoes to school, and when I inquired further about the shoe situation she said that the flats she’d worn were killing her feet.  I know what her alive feet smell like, so the last thing I wanted to do was find out what they might smell like dead.  I had to drive past the school anyway, so I grabbed the requested spare pair of shoes and threw them in a bag and headed out.

As I was walking towards the school office I saw a man just ahead of me carrying a stack of three Little Caesar’s pizzas as well as a bag of Crazy Bread.  I walked through the door of the office in time to hear him tell the secretary that the pizzas were for his daughter.  The secretary asked if his daughter was expecting them, and he said yes as he separated the pizzas into two stacks, one containing two pizzas and the other containing a pizza and the bag of Crazy Bread.

“Actually,” he said as he handed her the stack of two to put behind the counter, “these are for her.  This other one is for you all in here.”

Her jaw dropped.  “Really?  That’s for us?”

“Yes ma’am,” he smiled.

“Oh my gosh!  I was just saying…”  She turned to another co-worker. “Did you hear me just say that I forgot my lunch today?”

Another secretary popped her head out of the hallway.  “Is that really for us?”

“Yes!  Did you hear me say earlier that I forgot my lunch?  I can’t believe this!”

She thanked the man profusely as she set the office lunch on the back counter.  Then she turned to me in a notably better mood than she’d been in when I first stepped into the office a couple of minutes earlier.

I grinned at her. “You know…if God can feed the sparrows, He can surely feed school secretaries!”

She smiled widely and threw her hands up and pronounced “Yes!  That’s right!”

I handed her the Sparkette’s shoes and asked her to see that they found their way to their owner.  She was more than happy to oblige.

It cost that man about $8 to totally delight an entire office full of hungry, overworked, and under-appreciated school secretaries.  In the process, whether he meant to or not, he reminded one of them that her heavenly Father attends to her needs before she even has time to ask for His attention to them.

I am glad I witnessed this.  It was a pleasure to see the surprise and excitement on the faces of the office workers who had done nothing special to earn this small gift that communicated that they were seen and valued.

Sometimes we really have no idea how little it takes to totally make someone else’s day.

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2015 6:15 am

    How sweet! What a lovely true story. :)

Leave a Reply

