Skip to content

Abundance

April 13, 2015

It’s raining.  Glorious, glorious rain.

It’s dark outside as I write this, so I can’t actually see the rain.  But I can surely hear it.

I hear it hitting leaves.  I hear it pounding the roof.  I hear it plinking against windows and gurgling down drainpipes.

But what I love best about this particular rain is that it’s rained long enough that when the rain hits the ground it sounds wet and splashy.

There’s a difference, you know.

When rain falls on dry and thirsty ground, it sounds muffled.  There is no extra moisture; the first drops have their work cut out for them just to get everything damp.

But if it rains long enough or hard enough, dry becomes damp, and the damp gives way to wet, and eventually the wet gives way to soaked as the ground becomes so saturated that it can no longer drain quickly.

And that’s when it gets splashy.  The rain actually sounds wetter when it’s falling on saturated ground.

I love splashy seasons.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2015 9:32 am

    I pray to be splashy, so wet I squelch Holy Spirit when I walk!

    • April 13, 2015 10:59 am

      I’m pretty sure you mean squish, and me too! ;)

  2. April 13, 2015 12:45 pm

    No, I mean squelch, so wet, so sodden I sound like I am walking through muddy ground and splash everyone around me!

    • April 13, 2015 1:19 pm

      Ah, I see. I always knew squelch to mean “suppress”, but now that I know how you’re using it, I totally get that!

  3. April 14, 2015 9:34 am

    Stupid english! *hugs*

    • April 14, 2015 10:39 am

      I’m so glad I don’t have to learn it as a second language!

Leave a Reply

