Skip to content

Before and the beginning of the after

April 20, 2015

A few days ago I mentioned I went to Walmart for something and accidentally bought some plants.  And then I went back later in the evening and bought more plants, this time on purpose.

I finally got those flowers in the ground this evening.  Mr. Sparky was indispensable in the process, working some garden soil into the dirt yesterday, and then dragging bags of mulch for me today.

Sparky Nation demanded pictures of my upgraded flower bed.  And by Sparky Nation, I mean one person.  And by upgrade, I mean the whole weeds-to-riches glamour shot photo shoot.  Which means three photos, two of which were taken in questionable light, but that’s rather par for the course for paparazzi, yes?

The wasteland, mostly de-weeded, inhabited by Stella d'Oro dailyness and some volunteer petunias.

The wasteland, mostly de-weeded, inhabited by Stella D’oro daylilies and some volunteer petunias.

 

IMG_2201

Baby annuals and teenaged Stella D’oro daylilies in a fresh coat of mulch. The volunteer petunias got transplanted to better positions.

 

IMG_2202

Gratuitous sexy profile shot.

The cool thing about this project is that last year my knees were too cranky to even think about doing anything like this.  I was just finishing physical therapy for the knee I had scoped, and the other one was quickly deteriorating.  I still wouldn’t dare do any squatting or kneeling, seeing as it’s much easier to inflame a knee than de-flame it, but I was at least able to bend and dig around without being inhibited by stiffness, swelling, or miserably tight IT bands in my legs.

And this is a good thing.

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2015 1:58 am

    Yeah!!!

  2. April 20, 2015 7:23 am

    I look forward to a photo with it all in bloom. It’s going to be beautiful! Happy that your knee is in better shape this year.

    • April 20, 2015 9:06 am

      I’m glad to have this photo for comparison in a couple of months. I don’t know how all those plants will do in that spot, but hey—at least I’ll learn something!

Leave a Reply

