Skip to content

Adjusting focus

April 26, 2015

Not long ago I had the lenses in my eyeglasses updated.

Eyeglasses are both a blessing and an inconvenience.  The Lasik procedure I had done nine years ago took me from the world of coke bottle lenses for eyes far beyond legally blind when uncorrected, to a world of just needing some occasional light help dealing with the astigmatism caused by significant scarring on my cornea.  Not a typical reaction to the procedure, but it happened.  Now a few years later I’m finding that I need a little help with focus for reading.

It is good that glasses can compensate for these things, even if I don’t like wearing them.

But glasses don’t heal my eyes.

Glasses can’t fix the scars on my corneas.  Nor can glasses give me the close-up focus I had twenty years ago.

I hope God heals these things in my eyes.  I believe He can.  But truth be told, my eyes need a deeper, more fundamental healing than the correction of aging and scarred corneas.

I want Him to heal my eyes so that I see as He sees and am no longer distracted by the dysfunctional vision of an earthbound human who filters sight through distorted knowledge and flawed logic and reasoning.

I want to see people as He sees them.  I want their potential to be dazzling to my eyes.  I want to no longer need to see any sign of Him on the outside of people, but be completely drawn to the brilliance of His image even in those too lost to know it exists in them.

I want the images that hit my retinas to have no bearing on how I interpret His thoughts or His heart for any given situation.

I want to see beyond the see-able and the seen.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2015 12:57 am

    Can I sign up for that eyesight too please?

  2. April 27, 2015 6:05 am

    This is one of my favorites of your posts so far.

  3. April 29, 2015 7:22 am

    Me too!!!! Please Lord!!

Leave a Reply

