Skip to content

Blanketed by glory

May 14, 2015

My eyes closed and sleep threatened to overtake me.  I wanted to fight it but the day had been long and my body, tucked into the corner of a soft sofa, was tired, and the music was peaceful.

It wasn’t difficult to be still.

I listened to the music and let myself rest quietly, hoping I wouldn’t regret permitting myself to become so relaxed.  The song ended and a new one began, one equally peaceful.

Suddenly I was very awake.  The presence of God was thick and heavy in the room, and even though I was instantly alert, I couldn’t really open my eyes without a huge struggle.  For that matter, I couldn’t move.

And I didn’t want to.

I waited as the music played.  I didn’t know what I was waiting for, but since I could neither move nor open my eyes, it just seemed like the right thing to do.

I began to see pictures.  I listened, but any words bypassed my ears and simply landed in my heart. I asked for wisdom to understand what I saw.  And then my body began to tremble and tingle, as if low-level electricity was coursing through it.

The others in the room occasionally spoke, and although I listened to them, I was still lightly pinned down by that glorious weighty presence.  I occasionally attempted to open my eyes, but they quickly fell shut again.  My eyelids were too heavy to hold open.

That beautiful Presence stayed for quite a while, gracing us with His peace.  But gradually the weight lifted, although the peace remained.

In the hours afterward I found myself still awed by what I experienced in that room.  We’d all experienced something during that time, even though we experienced it differently one from another.

I never cease to be amazed at how personal and intimate He is when He interacts with His kids.  He knows exactly what we need and what will bless us and grow us, but He doesn’t bother with making all our experiences “equal” or “fair”.

No, He seems to be in the custom-encounter business.  And I like that about Him.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2015 11:43 am

    Nothing comes close!! :)

  2. May 23, 2015 3:32 am

    Amen! He truly is absolutely amazing in the sense of how personal He is when he is speaking to us. Instances have happened to me to where I’m just like wow God is making a point to get my attention on this planet of so many people ! …We have a living God that interacts with us . Thank you for sharing your testimony=)

    • May 23, 2015 11:11 am

      Living and interactive. I love those things about Him. Thank you for reading and commenting. :)

Leave a Reply

