Skip to content

Non-words with Friends

May 26, 2015

I like to play Words with Friends on my phone.  It requires a few brain cells to play, which I like, but not so many that I begin to wheeze the moment I open the app.  Games are for fun and should not cause stress hives.  Just sayin’.

That said, I am dreadfully prone to tile collections that are nearly impossible to play.  Seriously…one I is good, but five?  How am I supposed to use that with the a and the u that complete my hand?  Or what about those hands that consist of J,L,K,B,V,X,Y?

Fortunately, I’m not too put off by losing.  For that matter, I usually forget to look at the score when I’m playing.  I just like to make words and get lots of points for it.  I tend to overlook that my opponents are doing the same and may be beating the pants off me.

Words with Friends has given my vocabulary quite a stretch.  I’m always shocked to find words that I didn’t know were actual words.

Rabbit trail:  I’m still disgruntled that the game doesn’t recognize shart.  Seriously…I can spell it, I can define it, I can use it in a sentence.  Everyone knows what it is, and everyone dreads that it might ever happen to them. How is this not a real word? Especially when the game does recognize shat? Ok, BANG! That rabbit’s dead, moving on.

One of the fun things the app does is provide a Word of the Day to help expand the vocab of those who play the game.  But today “fun” became weird.  When I opened the app, I saw this:

Word of the Day:  Tragis.

“Hmm,” I thought.  “I don’t know that word.  I’ve never even heard it before.”

So I clicked on it to get the definition and pronunciation.

Here is what it said.  You ready for this?

“This word is not recognized in Words with Friends.”

OH MY GOSH THEN WHY DID YOU BRING IT UP?!?

Seriously…why in tarnation would they put a fake word in the Word of the Day spot only to have you click on it to be told it’s a fake word?  Am I missing something here?

Tragis is not a word.  It does exist as an acronym (Transportation Routing Analysis Geographic Information System, TRAGIS), but that’s not something so commonly used that it would enter mainstream vocabulary.  Well, maybe if you were trying to sleep you might repeat it over and over like counting sheep.  Sounds like it would have the same effect.  So maybe it would be mainstream vocabulary for insomniacs and desperate parents of colicky infants.  But not the rest of us.

As far as I’m concerned this was just plain rude.  It was the word game equivalent to eating chocolate in front of a friend and not offering them any.

I’m sure there’s a word for that, and when I think of it I better get a good forty-five points for it.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2015 7:58 am

    One of these days I’ll play Words With Friends. Right now I do Scrabble with a TX friend who can routinely kick my butt. She’s helped me be a better player. But WWF bringing up a non-word??? Whaaaat? How rude!

    • May 26, 2015 10:46 am

      I KNOW, RIGHT?! And WwF is really just Scrabble. Even the same board as the board game. So you should give it a try.

Leave a Reply

