Skip to content

Level Four Upgrade, please

May 27, 2015

I recently realized that I need to have some business cards made.

Problem #1:  I have no idea how to define my business.

Problem #2:  If I knew how to define my business, I’m not sure I’d put it on a card.

It’s more fun (and usually more fruitful) to let people figure out my business on their own.  The reality is that I am sent into the lives of others for varying reasons, and often not for the ones most obvious.  So defining my business could actually appear to be false advertising to someone who thinks they’re just going to lunch or just getting coffee.

So…that means what I really need is a contact card.  And I believe the design should be reflective of me. Nothing dull or boring.  Something with some color and quirk.

Ok, a lot of color and quirk.

Problem #3:  I can’t find a design that really feels like me.

Problem #4:  I have no graphic design skills to create one on my own.

I’ve looked at lots of nice designs.  Hundreds of them by now.  Pretty ones, professional ones, ones that do the job.  But nothing I want to represent me.  And I don’t think I want to settle until I find a YES! design.

One of the things I’ve learned over the past few years is that problems come with upgrades attached.  Every obstacle we face, large or small, is also an opportunity for growth and advancement.  So I’m asking Him about that, because I have this thing I need and I’m not able to make it happen without settling.  And He is not a settling kind of Person.  So I need some help up in here.

I’m not sure how that works with business contact cards, but when they finally arrive, I expect them to be all that and a bag of chips drowned in awesome sauce.

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 27, 2015 7:29 am

    Can’t wait to see your new Contact Cards. If I were you … I’d enlist the help of the amazing Olivia to translate your ideas digitally, graphically. :)

    • May 27, 2015 9:01 am

      Funny…I was actually just talking to her about that, sorta. :)

  2. May 27, 2015 1:05 pm

    I had an order ready to go but the company kept wanting me to do all these add-on’s and when I finally clicked submit, the little icon kept twirling and twirling. It wasn’t to be evidently. Then we up & moved. May try again since we have roots now, though I doubt I’m putting a home address on the card. Recommend a company???

    • May 27, 2015 1:07 pm

      Yes! Moo.com! I got some mini cards from them a few years back and the quality was very nice, and the prices were quite reasonable. Go poke around there and see what you think!

  3. Joann permalink
    June 1, 2015 10:29 am

    I love MOO too!!

Leave a Reply

