Skip to content

Learning electro-tricks

May 28, 2015

So I got spurred by some bit of wildness today and decided I would attempt to learn some basic graphic design at Canva.com.

I am well aware that there is a sizable population of the Sparky Nation doubled over in laughter right about now.  And for good reason.  Every time I turn on my computer and it doesn’t blow up, I’m amazed.

Computer stuff doesn’t come easily to me.  There are things I can do, things I’ve learned, but for the most part I am easily confused and intimidated.  And you can show me how to do something eight times and I still won’t understand or remember how to do it.  But I can remember random facts I read in obscure places 30 years ago, easy.

You know, 30 BC.  Before computers.

I’ve been wanting to know how to do some simple graphic design projects.  This was driven home even more deeply after my recent and still unresolved search for business contact cards.  And this blog…holy smokes, I haven’t touched the layout for probably five years.  And why?  Because I don’t know how to make another header.  How pathetic is that?

So a friend told me about Canva and I made note and even signed up but didn’t touch it for about three weeks.  But today I decided to poke around a little

Lo and behold, they have beginner’s tutorials.

Now…it’s safe to assume that their idea of a beginner and my reality probably don’t match.  But I still hoped that I’d be able to navigate the tutorials.

By the time I was four lessons in, I’d only been on the verge of tears twice.  I figured that was probably pretty good, considering the raw material I was working with.  Namely, me.

I’ve now completed 9 out of 30 tutorials.  They’re short and simple, at least thus far.  One had me getting all worked up until I realized that the YouTube video they were using to show me what to do had to have been based on a different version of the program, because I simply didn’t have the button they used in the tutorial.  But I got around it, so I suppose either way I learned something.

Let me tell you…it is hard to be a creative and possess limited skills and proficiencies.  I can see possibilities but have no idea how to bring them to fruition.  I don’t know if learning this design program will help, but I’m going to give it a shot.

If you show up here to Hey Sparky one day and someone’s rearranged the furniture and hung new curtains, you’ll know I’m making progress.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2015 10:29 am

    Old dog and new tricks do go together ;)

Leave a Reply

