Skip to content

Whatcha lookin’ at?

June 14, 2015

It’s been a quiet week here at Hey Sparky!  I’ve been out of town with limited time for posting, since it’s generally a bad idea to blog while driving. I’m terrible at multitasking anyway. 

My van developed an annoyance on the trip.  It’s a small thing and very fixable, thank goodness.  But somehow the windshield wiper blade on the driver’s side developed a very tiny nick in the rubber.  That means every time the wiper swiped, it left a delightful smeary arc across the windshield.  And guess where that arc was.

Yup.  Right at the driver’s eye level.

And by driver, I mean me.

I like a clean windshield.  Even when it’s not raining, there is a good chance I’ll be using my wipers a couple of times a day just for cleaning my view space.  Fat lotta good that does me when my view is obstructed by a smeary stream of windshield wiper fluid and bug guts.

Vision is a marvelous thing.  We can see all kinds of things without directly looking at them.  That means that I can drive down the highway just fine even though I have a 1/4″ wide arc of smear in front of my eyes.  But it annoys the ever-lovin’ fool out of me to do so, because even when I’m not looking at that smear, I can see it.

I’m back to that basic life truth:  what you focus on, you empower.

I can focus on the big picture and enjoy the view, or I can focus on the annoyance up close and be perpetually bothered and totally miss the gloriousness of the big picture.

I’ll let you think about that a little.

Meanwhile, I need to pester Mr. Sparky for new wiper blades.

 

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2015 9:46 am

    First I missed you *hugs*

    Second a great lesson about perspective with many many things to teach. Thank you :)

  2. lanavaughan permalink
    June 17, 2015 12:34 pm

    I would have pulled into the first auto supply store and replaced it. Those kind of things drive me crazy!

Leave a Reply

