Skip to content

Um…why do they call it a terminal?

September 24, 2015

In theory, I’m on my way to Brazil.

The reality is I’m sitting in the airport in Atlanta, watching my flight get delayed from 7:18pm…to 8:15pm…to 9:15pm…to 10pm…to 11pm…to 12am…and then back a minute to 11:59pm.

I cannot explain the one minute trip backwards.  Maybe this is some sort of Georgia time travel.

The airline has pacified us with bottles of water and snacks, and then cold sandwiches.

Me, I haz Al Gore’s internets and interesting people to chat with, so that’s good.  Even better, I have American restrooms.  So if I’m gonna be stuck, it’s better to be stuck on this end of the trip.  Although I hope to be unstuck soon.

It’s like a tiny corner of Brazil in this part of the international terminal.  Portuguese is flying by my ears, people are laughing, chatting, scrolling through their phones, or just sitting patiently.  The kids are good-humored.  Even the people who don’t look happy don’t look particularly unhappy.

I need to pinch myself.  I can’t believe I’m going back, or will be going back once we’re unstuck.

I can’t wait to see what God is up to in Brazil this time.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2015 10:35 pm

    Go, Lisa, Go!

Leave a Reply

