Skip to content

The expectation

September 25, 2015

It’s been a long day on the heels of a long night on the heels of another long day.  But a few hours ago our jet finally dropped below the clouds and sped over the sprawl of the night lights that is Sao Paulo, sinking lower and lower until the wheels touched down on the runway with a light bump.

I gulped back tears at the immediate flood of peace that washed over me.  The sense of purpose and opportunity is so strong here that it’s palpable.  I can feel the pleasure of God to bless these people He loves so much.  I can also feel their hunger in the air, taste the hope that swirls and dances on the breezes.

About twenty of us experienced the 12.5 hour delay and spent the night scattered on the hard floor in the airport in Atlanta.  Delta couldn’t fix the maintenance issue so we could leave earlier, but they did a good job plying us with snacks, blankets and pillows, comfort kits, bottles of water, hotel vouchers if we wanted them, 15,000 extra air miles, and a plethora of apologies. We arrived in Sao Paulo too late to join the rest of the ministry team here this evening.  That’s disappointing, but we were all tired and in desperate need of showers, water, food and deep rest.  The night off is best for us, because the pace here is rather vigorous most of the time.  It is 9:00pm, which is only 7:00pm in my time zone, and I can barely keep my eyes open.

Tomorrow we plunge into the normal pace of ministry here, eager to see God’s goodness and power manifest for those hungry to see it.

It’s gonna be great.

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2015 10:46 am

    I have been praying for Latin America through this last week. I am going to take your mission as an answer to that prayer ;) and continue to pray that God will bless you greatly, shower His love on you, and those with you, so that you can be the blessing you are called to be.

    I confess to being more than a tiny but envious of your opportunity :(

    • September 26, 2015 1:24 pm

      Jules…I’m so amazed to be here again. I cannot recommend this trip highly enough. Global Awakening comes here many times ever year, but at this time of year is when you’ll find the Lighting Fires trip. Please consider going. And if you have a Facebook, ask to join Adventures In Brazil and I will add you to my group of supporters who encourage me and pray for me. I’m trying to do frequent updates there!

      • September 26, 2015 3:48 pm

        I looked up Adventures in Brazil and it wasn’t a group page. Unless you are Carissa Todd i think it’s either a hidden group or some other name? maybe you could link it for me?

        • September 26, 2015 3:51 pm

          Friend request me on FB. Lisa Tuttle, look for profile pic with purple hair. :)

  2. September 27, 2015 12:23 am

    i’m so excited for you guys and thrilled to see you blogging again! love you!

    • September 27, 2015 12:25 am

      I’m hoping that when the immediate material is past that I’ll still have things to blog about. Sure do miss having you with us!

Leave a Reply

