Skip to content

Thanks! No Thanks! Thanks!

October 13, 2015

So I keep trying to order this pair of flip flops.

You wouldn’t think it would be that hard.  I mean…flip flops.  Amazon.  Click button.

I’m now on my third try.  The first time it thanked me for my order.  The next day it told me my payment was declined.  Turned out I’d told it to use a stored credit card that Mr. Sparky had entered from his computer, and Amazon wanted me to prove I was authorized to use the card from my computer.

Ok, easy peasy lemon squeezy.  I did that.  And it sent me an email thanking me for my order, for the second time.

And then today I received a repeat of the same notification.  Apparently Mr. Sparky’s card number was from the card he had before we were sent the new fancy-schmancy cards with the chips in them.

So I entered my card number, the one I knew was still good.  No more dorking around with cards.

The flippy-floppies I thought I’d have by Wednesday are now slated to arrive on Friday, assuming the sky doesn’t fall, the creek don’t rise, and the abdominal snowman don’t et my mail.  Or steal my flippy-floppies.

It’s another reminder that sometimes things that seem simple and easy are anything but. There’s often some unforeseen factor throwing a wrench into your spokes, jamming up the wheels of forward motion.  The next thing you know, you’re standing there gape-mouthed and barefooted.  After all, this worked quickly and easily in your head.

Except now you’re no longer in your head. You’re in real life.

And you had no idea you might need a Plan B.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

