Skip to content

I’m with Dan

October 21, 2015

It’s a curious conundrum.

At times I understand why Daniel Boone cried “elbow room!” I am frequently far off the beaten path, looking for what’s new…what’s interesting…what’s attention-worthy.  When I find it I am filled with delight…until everyone else finds it too.  When folks start hopping on the bandwagon, I hop off.

Let’s face it: I couldn’t be one of the cool kids if I tried.

The flip side is that even forerunners get lonely.  A little company while we bushwhack would be nice, at least for a little while.  Someone with whom to share knock-knock jokes.  Or at least someone with whom to agree to not share knock-knock jokes.

I don’t know if you’ve noticed this, but most folks don’t want to hang all that closely with someone who’s so handy with a machete.  People who spend a lot of time alone thinking about things most other people never think about are weird.  Not only are they weird, but they think not being weird is boring.

Of course, I may be projecting.

 

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

