Skip to content

You want to WHAT?!

October 24, 2015

There’s a design studio in my head.

This wouldn’t be so strange if I actually had any proven skill at planning and design, but I really don’t.  Nevertheless, I am constantly thinking about designing and redesigning a few things.  Just in case.  Because you never know.

For instance, I frequently design my dream kitchen.  Of all the things that lurk in a file in my Mental Studio, this is the only one that actually currently exists.  Once upon a time I did most of the cooking and so it made sense that I would want to tweak the design of the kitchen to better suit me.  But now Mr. Sparky does most of the cooking.  He loves it, and I’m over it, and so it all works out well.  But I’ve still not stopped designing our dream kitchen in my mind.

Then there’s the creative studio.  Oh, it would be glorious.  Lots of light, plenty of work space and storage, lots of outlets, a big sink, and a ginormous flat work table.  It would be flexible in both form and function so that a variety of projects could take shape in there, and it would be well-ventilated because creativity often stinks, literally, and sometimes you need to blow out some of the fumes.  And did I mention lots of light?

The other 2.5 things that take up space in the Mental Studio are more challenging to define.  They are a freedom and wholeness center and a supernatural life training center.

I believe freedom and wholeness usually happen from the inside out.  Our western culture often tries to tackle our ills from a medical standpoint, but much of what happens to us physically begins in our souls: our mind, will, and emotions.  God intended for us to be strong and well in every way, and not bound to thinking or behavior that opposes being truly healthy and whole.  A freedom and wholeness center would be about all the non-medical things we can do to support ourselves and move towards freedom and wholeness in body, soul, and spirit.  It would be faith-based, operated by non-religious Jesus Freaks passionate about people being freed to live their lives in strength and vitality.  Isaiah 61 in action.

A supernatural life training center would be just that: teaching people what it really means to be sons and daughters of God, to bring the kingdom of heaven to earth, to live in the yes and amen of God in the middle of the tension of life in the earth suit.  When the children of God learn who they are and what that means, they are then positioned to become brokers of kingdom realities in their lives and across the seven mountains of cultural influence:  arts and entertainment, business, education, family, government, media, and religion.  Christians often forget that although we aren’t supposed to be of the world, we are supposed to be in it, actively influencing it, shaping it, offering supernatural creativity to the natural problems of the world.  Heavenly solutions to earth’s problems. I spend a lot of time thinking about what that would look like and how it could be done.  A ridiculous amount, actually.

One of the sub-centers of a supernatural life training center would be a creativity center where the supernatural creativity in every believer could be affirmed, stirred up, and practiced.  I’m not just talking about artists.  Creativity is so much more than that.  There are dreamers and seers and idea people in every field, every area of life, and most of them will tell you they can’t draw a stick figure or carry a tune in a bucket.  But they can program…they can organize…they can govern…they can build…they can do all kinds of things that could go to a whole new level with some time, attention, and practice…and some encounters with Holy Spirit.  I really believe He wants to do that.

These things have existed in the privacy of my own mind for a long time.  I rarely even admit they’re there, but over the past year or so the latter 2.5 have gotten louder and more persistent about demanding time and space amongst the folds of the gray matter.  And I’ve found them slipping out, asking for air time.  It’s entirely possible (probable) that there are people gifted and called to the very things that are in my heart to establish, but they haven’t yet found the vision they feel called to partner with.  I want those people to have a place where their gifts are honored and honed and put to use.  I want to amass a company of culture-shifters and world-changers.

There are plenty of reasons why all of these design projects are laughable.  But…they exist in my mind and my heart.  Maybe I made them up, but I don’t think I’m that creative.  I believe it’s more likely they exist in God’s mind and heart, and He somehow dropped them into mine.

I have to wonder what He wants to do about that.

There’s that scripture about how God uses what we call foolishness to confound the wisdom of the world. Foolishness would probably look like giving dreams like these to someone who is administratively challenged, low on funding, and sometimes totally unequipped in areas that are in my heart to be addressed and built up in others.

But according to how God thinks, maybe I’m qualified because I’m unqualified? All I know is if any of these things ever actually happen, it will be very obvious that it was His doing.

After all, I’m the person who can’t get popcorn to her mouth without dropping it down her shirt.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2015 7:28 pm

    do it! you don’t want anything that’s possible without Him!!! i bless your dreams, believe in you and Him together to see them accomplished, and for you to know the next steps to take. it sounds like kingdom and glory to me, sister.

    • October 24, 2015 7:32 pm

      None of this is possible without Him, that’s for sure! I don’t know what the next steps are because I don’t as yet see a path to step onto, and I don’t know how to bushwhack this. But at least I’m paying attention and watching while I wait.

  2. October 25, 2015 7:34 pm

    If I love your heart (and I do) God sure does! No doubt He delights in you and will show you the way. You’ve already got a few (or more) friends who may just be part of the creativity. :)

Leave a Reply

