Skip to content

Winter sadness for the sole

November 11, 2015

What is it about finding out that you can’t get something that makes you obsessively want nothing other than that thing you can’t get?

Sometime during the middle of last winter, my beloved polar fleece booties gave out.  I have worn polar fleece bootie slippers for decades. They are like pacifiers for your feet, making them feel all comforted and happy.  Mr. Sparky hadn’t really liked the redesigned pair from Lands End, so he gave me his barely worn pair.  They were fine except for one glaring issue:

They weren’t red.

Don’t be laughing, now.  It matters.  Red is warmer.  Mr. Sparky’s pair is navy.  They are dignified and manly and very un-red.

By the time I needed new slippers last year, the stock was getting low and so I decided to wait until this year to get new ones since there would be a fresh selection of designs and colors.  Little did I know, Lands End would not be offering the polar fleece booties this year.

So I checked out L.L. Bean, which is indeed offering the booties in the design I actually like best (although they call them slipper socks for some odd reason).  This would be exciting except for one problem.

You guessed it.  No red.

L.L. Bean is offering their booties in two colors: navy and dark gray.

I just can’t.

I’ve scoured Al Gore’s internets and dang it all if I haven’t come up empty-footed. I don’t want polar fleece socks.  I don’t want moccasins.  I don’t want crafty booties that are polar fleece on the bottom without a real sole of some sort. I don’t want booties made of sweater knit, fur,  satin, or quilted stuff that looks like the Stay-Puf marshmallow man.  I definitely don’t want granny scuffs.  I would consider settling for another color if it wasn’t so…drab.  But $40 to settle for drabness?

I just can’t.

It’s a first world problem.  I have the slippers Mr. Sparky gave me last year, and I can probably get another season out of them.  I have awesome fuzzy socks which are fun.  And I live in Florida, which means my risk of frostbite on my tootsies is quite low.  I’m blessed.

I don’t know what it is, this thing that drives us to want what we can’t have.  Maybe it’s just human nature.  Maybe it was the chink in the armor that the snake exploited in the garden of Eden.  Whatever it is, it’s so much deeper than a pair of slippers.

Because it’s not just that we want what we can’t have.  We also obsessively want what we think we can’t have or what we perceive is being withheld from us, even if isn’t really.  And if we think we can’t have it, then we’ll almost certainly entertain jealousy towards those who do have it.  It’s a nasty cycle that perpetuates a very distorted concept of justice and fairness.

I do my best to avoid rolling like that, but just to be safe, do a sister a favor and don’t be gloating if you have red polar fleece booties.

Unless you can tell me where to find a pair for myself, that is.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 11, 2015 6:23 am

    You would not be happy with my newly purchased, just like my husband’s, man house slippers. Not polar fleece. Not red. But way comfy and bendable unlike many women’s house shoes/slippers.

    • November 11, 2015 7:46 am

      Hey, I wish you and your bendable house slippers all the best, my friend! Haha!

  2. November 11, 2015 9:03 am

    I live and die by my UGG slippers. Mine are brown, but guess what? (I know they’re moccasins but talk about a pacifier for the feet!!)
    http://www.uggaustralia.com/women-moccasins/ansley-fancy/1009171.html?dwvar_1009171_color=BYWN#start=10&cgid=womens-slippers

    • November 11, 2015 9:20 am

      I have to admit they’re cute. But no soft cloud of embrace for my ankles!

      • November 11, 2015 9:22 am

        ahh. Well best of luck on your quest, or on accepting the reality of life in your hubby’s slippers hee hee!

  3. November 11, 2015 12:04 pm

    You have my sympathies. I too am a creature of specifics in certain areas. May your search for red polar fleece booties be fruitful ;)

Leave a Reply

