Skip to content

A shift in the current

January 19, 2016

The past few months have been a whirlwind of activity, most of it involving some sort of travel.  It’s rather mind-boggling when I stop to consider where I’ve been and all I’ve done since last August.  Even more so if I back it up to last January and consider the year.

I have to admit I’m enjoying this season of life, although it’s sometimes a challenge to learn to navigate it in a way where I don’t let myself become stressed over it.  I’m having to learn to move and shift more quickly, and how to plan for transitions.  And it’s definitely a skill to learn, because my natural wiring doesn’t like to feel rushed.  My natural wiring wants things ordered, but not boring.

God is really smart, you know?  He wired me really well, just like He wired you really well.  Our lives are full of wonderful things that are testaments to our specific wiring.  We approach life and relationships according to a funky mix of our wiring, our experiences, and the belief system the combination has produced in us.  We need our own wiring.  It’s how we live, mostly.

But then God, in all His smartness, starts throwing pitches we aren’t naturally wired to hit.

And that’s when we learn that we’re more than we know.  We can change.  We can shift.  We can learn new things and new ways.

The super cool part is that we don’t stop being who we’re wired to be when we start learning things outside of our natural wiring.

When I learn new things, I become more me than I ever knew I could be, just as you become more you when you learn new things.  This is how we step closer to being the best possible version of ourselves.

As long as we’re breathing, we get to keep stepping.

No doubt about it, I’ve come a long way…but there’s equally no doubt I’ve got a long way to go.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2016 9:27 am

    Hope you’ll blog more about your re-wiring and new shifts!

    • January 20, 2016 11:42 am

      I hope so too. I miss blogging. I don’t understand why it’s so difficult right now, frankly.

      • January 20, 2016 1:59 pm

        Seems it’s been difficult for awhile. But you (and/or He) still come up with some good stuff. Your readers are blessed.

  2. January 28, 2016 10:55 pm

    we need you to be you, dear one. the way you are wired is glorious and wonderful! i love hearing about your stepping.

Leave a Reply

