Skip to content

Quietly present

April 25, 2016

Hey, you.

Yeah…you.

What? Did you think I couldn’t see you?  Did you think I’d forgotten about you?  I know we used to talk a lot more, back in the days before I ran out of words.  But we didn’t stop existing when the words flew away.  We kept on breathing.  Our eyes still saw the world spin around.

Life marched on.  Sometimes it even danced on.  Life does that if we’ll let it.

You must wonder if the words are ever going to come back.  I wonder that, too.

I am surrounded by a sea of noise.  Some days it’s hard work to make sure the noise doesn’t invade me.  Truth be told, some days I fail.  But I have a very high value for the unshakeable calm that holds steady when the waves of sound begin crashing around me, assaulting my peace.  Sometimes it’s an expensive priority.

Right now it’s costing me words.

In the bible there’s a story of a man who was crippled, and every day he laid on his mat by a public bathing pool.  Sometimes the waters in the pool would mysteriously get stirred up, and when that happened it was said that an angel was stirring the waters, and the first person who got into them when they were all sloshy like that would get healed.  Except the man was crippled and slow, and so he was never able to be first.  But then one day Jesus dropped by the pool and noticed him.  And instead of scolding the man for not trying harder, Jesus skipped the whole get-in-the-pool part and just healed the man on the spot.  Told him to pick up his mat and go home. Which he did. You can bet that was a day life danced for that man.  Jesus showed up and did for him what he was unable to do for himself.*

I’m not sure why I’m telling you that, except perhaps to say that maybe my words need a dip in the pool, or maybe they just need Jesus to speak to them and heal whatever it is that makes them decide to stay away.  If He can heal lame legs, surely He can heal hiding words.

Anyway, I just wanted you to know that I haven’t forgotten you.  I see you.  You must never permit yourself to believe that my quietness means you have slipped from my sight or lost value in my heart.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

*The bible story of the crippled man can be found in the book of John, chapter 5.  It’s a good story.  You should check it out.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2016 12:41 am

    I am totally running out of words…and the sentiment is completely the same.

    • April 25, 2016 12:49 am

      I don’t know why it happens. I mean, life doesn’t stop happening, so it’s not like there isn’t a source of wordage available. But when the words go, they go, and they don’t seem to care if we understand or can explain it or not.

  2. tamarshope permalink
    April 25, 2016 6:15 am

    I can totally relate Lisa, thank you for expressing it so eloquently.

    • April 25, 2016 6:24 am

      I’m sorry you relate, but glad to find enough words to help you feel you’re not the only one. ❤️

  3. April 25, 2016 11:33 am

    I miss your words but I am not sorry they are silent now because whether it is for teaching or trial or encouragement He has His plan. As you see here you are loved with or without the words <3

    • April 25, 2016 11:35 am

      Thank you for such a sweet blessing and encouragement. ❤️

  4. April 25, 2016 4:50 pm

    Love you. Miss the words. Know they’ll show up in time. Not that mine have been fully awake!

    • April 25, 2016 7:08 pm

      Thank you. And you’ve been a busy woman over the past few months…I’m amazed you’ve managed to blog as much as you have!

Leave a Reply

