Skip to content

Thanks for the memories…

June 4, 2016

On Saturday, June 4th at about 2pm, a season of my life comes to a close.  I will be clocking out from my job at the intimate-wear store, and I won’t be clocking back in.

Six years.  I had no idea I’d be doing this for six years of my life.  That’s more than 1/10th of my life, y’all.  Six years of assuring women that what they think is so terribly unusual and weird and unattractive about themselves is simply normal.  Six years of battling entropy at the panty tables.  Six years of bra-fitting and earning the nickname “The Bra Whisperer”.  Six years of making women laugh so they’d forget to notice they were doing something uncomfortable.  Six years of being unflappable, unoffendable, and unshockable no matter what I see or hear.  Six years of war with the store registers/computers.  A six-year stream of people to serve—most of them wonderful, some of them downright precious, a few of them meaner than a bag of snakes, and a handful of them certifiably nuts.  Many of them I recognize when they walk into the store even if they don’t live locally (we have many regulars who own second homes here or vacation here regularly), more than a few I can greet by name.  And I have been beyond blessed with favor from managers, coworkers, and customers.  I will miss them.

But sometimes it’s just time, you know?  It is time for the season to shift, even though I’m not totally sure what that will ultimately look like.

I’ve been spending some time considering how I want to reorder my life when a work schedule is no longer part of it.   I hope there will be time and energy for more art, more ministry, more investment in relationships.  I’ve been asking God about that sort of thing, since He’s really into doing new things.  It will be curious to see what He cooks up.

In honor of my last day, I thought I’d dig into the archives for some of the posts inspired by my work at da panty sto’.  Some are funny, some are observations, some are thoughtful.  Whatever you do, don’t miss What was THAT?!?  Five years later and that day is still burned into my brain!

10-20-2010 Thus Far… 

3-16-2012 When Love Stinks

5-29-2011  Say What?

3-13-2011 What was THAT?!? 

9-11-2012 Mama…ooOOooo…

5-16-11 Not quite Santa, but… 

9-18-11 What’s under the hood? 

3-20-2015 The Nature Of Generous Support

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2016 7:06 am

    I know you will be missed greatly especially since you so humbly served your friends and I know each of your customers were treated just like you treated us! I can’t wait to see what God has up His sleeve for you!! I’m coffee toasting to a new journey!

    • June 4, 2016 3:43 pm

      Thank you! I’ll gladly raise my mug to that!

  2. June 4, 2016 10:58 am

    If you were half as good as the lady who worked with me yesterday when I was fitted for new bras then you were an absolute treasure!

    Here’s to many more years of making people feel important, cared for and comfortable in whatever you do next.

    • June 4, 2016 3:42 pm

      I am so glad to hear you had a good experience wherever it was you went! And thank you…I hope for many more years of exactly what you describe!

Leave a Reply

