Skip to content

Into the new

June 6, 2016

It’s so strange.

Today wasn’t a day off.  Today was the beginning of the new normal.

For the record, I don’t really know what the new normal will be yet. I’m kinda trying out some things and I’m giving myself grace to find a rhythm that works.  I’m also recognizing that I’ve got some stuff to catch up on around here, but I can’t do that in one day, or even one week, so I’m aiming to do that a little bit at a time, even if it feels like scratching away at Mt. Rushmore with a dental tool with the intent to take the whole thing down…eventually…

I took a shower but didn’t bother with makeup and just fluffed at my hair a little bit.  I put on comfy clothes that were totally inappropriate for work, and at 11pm, I’m still in them as opposed to coming home from work and heading straight for my PJs because I can’t bear hanging out in work clothes.  I did a little housework, a little laundry, a little cooking.  I spent some time art-ing.  I’m not sure exactly how to define the current art gig.  It’s not really painting or drawing, although I occasionally use a paint brush.  So for now I’ll just call it art-ing, since messing with alcohol inks doesn’t seem to have an official descriptive title.

I’m realizing now I never left the house today, with the exception of a quick excursion onto the back deck to harvest some basil for making pesto.  I’m ok with that.  It was nice.

There’s quiet.  Quiet to think, quiet to listen.  I’m not in a rush to fill my space with sound or frenetic activity.  I’m over the Western mindset that we have to cram every moment full and schedule ourselves into oblivion.  I don’t function well that way.  I don’t think most people do, but it’s so expected and accepted that everyone thinks it’s normal.  Today I took a deep breath and enjoyed being where I am, in my own space, in my own skin.

I wonder how long until it stops being strange?

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

