Skip to content

At my fingertips

July 10, 2016

The pen is mightier than the sword.

It may surprise you to know that I don’t really care for the physical act of writing, of taking pen or pencil and forming sentences on a page. It makes my hand crampy, and I get frustrated because I can’t edit easily if I decide there was a better way to state something I wrote four sentences ago. These two reasons pretty much sum up why I actually have few physical journals around. It’s much easier for me to type.

Don’t get me wrong: I’m an absolutely terrible typist. My keyboarding skills are slow and dreadfully inaccurate, and I spend a lot of time hitting the backspace key so that I can fix whatever horrific typo I barfed into the universe. I know you know what I’m talking about. I am well aware that no matter how many times I proofread, one occasionally slips through the cracks and takes up residence here in Sparky Land.

Sorry ’bout that.

It matters to me because words matter.  Words are powerful.  They express individuality and creativity; they spread ideas and information. Whether we speak them or write them, they are by their very nature locked and loaded. The book of Proverbs puts it this way:

The tongue has the power of life and death,
and those who love it will eat its fruit. –Proverbs 18:21

The tongue.  That’s anything you say or write or sign or otherwise give voice through words. That’s some serious stuff, you know?

My fingers on this keyboard are my pen, an extension of my voice. On any given day my pen can be

-a surgical blade

-a soft blanket

-a tourniquet

-a machete

-a lasso

-a grenade

-a bandage

-a guide

-an harpoon

-a life-preserver

-a mile marker

-an emetic

-a machete

-a key

-a tornado

-a comedic interlude

-a map

-a dream-inducer

-kerosene

It’s actually a weighty responsibility, wielding the pen well.

Over the years I’ve learned that not everything I think needs to be spoken or written.

Not everything I speak or write needs to be shared.

Not everything I share needs to be broadcast to the public.

It’s not that I don’t believe my pen has power.  It’s because I believe it does.

When my words bring life, I want them to bring life to love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faith, and self-control.  I want them to heal and bless.  And I want to be sure that when my words destroy, they destroy darkness, lies, and worldly systems that are set up to damage hearts and lives and deface the King and the kingdom dear to my heart.

If you ever wonder why I don’t employ my pen to address certain topics, most of the time this is why. Words are powerful, and I rarely find myself wanting to scream them over panic and chaos like some keyboard warrior needing to have the word du jour to fix the mess du jour. To be effective, words also need appropriate timing.

Your words are just as powerful as mine, you know, be they written or spoken. What you say, how you say it, when you say it, to whom you say it…even why you say it.

I hope you embrace that, because it is true.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2016 9:18 am

    I believe this too. Words are powerful. It means knowing when to say something and when not to.

    • July 10, 2016 9:39 am

      The right word at the wrong time still usually ends up being the wrong word, eh?

  2. August 7, 2016 2:39 pm

    God bless you for sharing this.

    • August 7, 2016 2:47 pm

      Thank you…I will gladly receive any blessings He’s handing out!

Leave a Reply

