Skip to content

Ballet of breath

November 9, 2016

The line was long but still I waited

I had other things to do but nothing better

Some folks chatted to pass the time

But I was lost in the breath of the wind

 

I avoided eye contact with the ground

I pretended I couldn’t see the fractures beneath my feet

Maps of history and maps of conjecture

I closed my eyes and the breeze kissed my face

 

Stolen songs swirled around me

I wondered if anyone else could hear them

I wondered if anyone was missing them

Or if they knew the wind remembered every note

 

A barking dog interrupted the melodies

As barking dogs are wont to do

The chatting folks heard neither dog nor music

But the wind and I heard it all

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

