Skip to content

The sound foundation

November 19, 2016

I’ve heard it said that

the eyes are the windows to the soul

and I think this is probably true

I don’t know what the ears are

but I love that when the eyes are closed

the ears are still open

Your ears hear me always

When nobody else is listening

your razor ears never miss a thing

When I am shivering soundlessly

you hear every word I’m not saying

every decibel-less word I’m screaming

every choked syllable lodged in my throat

You never mistake my quiet for silence

When I sing for you

the notes arc through space like falling stars

and you catch every one

and call them beautiful

even if they’re wet with tears

even if they’re sticky with blood

even if they’re fragile and broken

Your ears hear with grace

that which would repel any sane eye

But I think the best thing

is that in the middle of it all

the good

the bad

the outrageously ugly

your ears hear the laughter

that is yet to come.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2016 11:11 am

    I loved and needed this. Will send a message as to why.

Leave a Reply

