Skip to content

Armed and dangerous

March 2, 2017

 

 

It was war

and I don’t know how I found myself in the battle

but once I saw the enemy advance

I could not turn my back on my comrades

guttural screams

metal against metal

the grinding sound of combat

close enough to feel

the breath of the adversary

And yet I seemed to be hidden

as I grabbed an arrow and swiftly aimed

and released it

watching it hit the mark while I reached for another

and another

and another

a steady rhythm of

reach

aim

release

over

and

again

so swiftly yet

so calmly

that it felt odd to consider this fighting

And yet the deadliness of my aim

made it clear that this was not play

and that sometimes we fight battles

that are ours only because

we are a we.

 

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 2, 2017 8:39 am

    Thanks. A word in good time

Leave a Reply

