Skip to content

Of thin places

April 6, 2017

I stepped out of the storm

and found myself on an unfamiliar shore

The calm waters before me

unfazed by the violent roar gnashing at my back

the serene blue gently kissing

the sand and pebbles inches from my toes

while lightning still reached for my heels

I closed my eyes and shivered

and told myself I was safe

My head knew it was true

but my heart still pounded

as the thunder echoed in my ears

I was soaked to the bone

dripping with a fury not my own

and as I lifted my face

rivers ran down my cheeks and

I could not tell if they were made of

rain or tears.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2017 7:32 pm

    Quite a picture your words have painted. Maybe canvas is calling or already called.

Leave a Reply

